Frozen Toe Finale

The super organized race officer, Mark Harper watching the forecast all week was concerned that there would not be enough wind to sail. A very light North westerly was just enough for a race.

A wind shadow settled over the first mark, CYC 1, as the fleet approached. Sailors skillfully managing to round the mark were frustratingly pushed back with the tide. After ten minutes of patiently waiting and retrodrifting, a light breeze set.

The Fast fleet, elected to do a second lap allowing the RS 400 to sail away in fickle winds to establish a 13 minute lead at the gun.

The Frozen Toe series for the most part was blessed with favourable winds and blue skies, in contrast to todays grey somber ambience and glassy seas.

After the racing was finished, and the boats were packed away, the competitors enjoyed mulled wine and mince pies before the Prize Giving.

The final results were :

Overall Winner Guy Mayger Felpham SC
Fast Fleet
1 Sophie Mackley & Tom Jeffcoate Shoreham SC
2 William Warren & Ben Clarke Shoreham SC
3 Ben Jones & Helen Hilditch Shoreham SC
4 Nick & Roger Elliman Chichester YC
5 Ross Fisher Felpham SC
Medium Fleet
1 Guy Mayger Felpham SC
2 Nick & Biddy Colbourne Chichester YC
3 Ian Lissamore Chichester YC
4 Mark Harper Chichester YC
5 Paul Kameen Bosham SC
6 Ian Payne Chichester YC
Slow Fleet
1 Samuel Brackley Felpham SC
2 Jo Andrews Felpham SC
3 Robin Stein CMYC/Queen Mary

Next big event is the Snowflake on the 15th January. Look out for Dinghy Week at Chichester YC, August 5-11, 2017.