2000 Open – Light Wind at CYC

With a forecast of a maximum windspeed of 4 knots and a predicted shift of 180° it didn’t bode too well for the 2000 open at CYC on Saturday 18th of May, giving the Race Officers something of a challenge to set the first course.

With a simple windward mark and leeward gate and prompt setting out of the marks by the safety boats race one started pretty much on schedule with all 14 boats clearing the line.

The wind stayed very light, so only two laps were possible within the race duration; the first three placings were consistent throughout the race which was won by 2321, Jasper Barnum and Serena De Nahlik of Snettisham Sailing Club.

Despite the course change race 2 posed even more of a headache with the wind shifting constantly, as forecast, in the run-up to the start sequence, and dying to practically nothing after the start. Four boats had individual recalls but eventually made it over the start line. The race was shortened to one lap but all boats eventually finished. Boat 22334, Simon Horsefield and Katie Burrage of ASA took first place by a considerable margin, mainly due to a smart manoeuvre at the windward mark.

After a 45 minute delay to wait for the wind to fill and shift, Race 3 made it all worthwhile! With the wind increasing to 6 to 7 knots the final course change paid off with a crackingly competitive race between the 11 boats that had waited patiently. The fleet divided loosely into two groups with places changing frequently within these over the full five laps, depending mainly on choices made on the beat to the windward mark. Race 3 was won by 22334 (Simon Horsfield) despite dropping to third position in lap 3.  Jasper Barnum and Serena were second, Rob and Sarah Burridge third.

The first CYC boat was Helen Green and Nick Berry.

Overall positions were:

Rank Sail No Helm Crew Club R1 R2 R3 Total Nett
1st 22334 Simon Horsfield Katie Burridge Army SA (2.0) 1.0 1.0 4.0 2.0
2nd 2321 Jasper Barnham Serena De Nahlik Snettisham Beach SC 1.0 (2.0) 2.0 5.0 3.0
3rd 2458 Rob Burridge Sarah Burridge Weir Wood SC 3.0 (5.0) 3.0 11.0 6.0
4th 22607 Christopher Jordan Gillian Jordan Brightlingsea SC 4.0 3.0 (5.0) 12.0 7.0
5th 22316 Miles Wade Gemma Burridge Weir Wood SC 5.0 (10.0) 4.0 19.0 9.0
6th 21790 Helen Green Nick Berry Chichester YC (10.0) 4.0 8.0 22.0 12.0
7th 21446 Guy Russell Clare Collett West Wittering SC (11.0) 6.0 6.0 23.0 12.0
8th 2077 Andrew Frogley Isabella Frogley Thorney Island SC 6.0 8.0 (16.0 DNC) 30.0 14.0
9th 2654 Al Jenkin Manu Jenkin Chichester YC 7.0 (9.0) 7.0 23.0 14.0
10th 21405 Dan Cruse Bruce MacDonald Dorchester SC 8.0 7.0 (9.0) 24.0 15.0
11th 21731 Michael Olliff Paula Olliff Chichester YC 9.0 (11.0) 10.0 30.0 19.0
12th 22352 Michael McEwing Tony Barmby RAFSA/Rutland SC (16.0 DNF) 12.0 11.0 39.0 23.0
13th 21041 Ian Frogley Graham Frogley Great Moors SC 12.0 14.0 (16.0 DNC) 42.0 26.0
14th 21557 James Cameron Ian Caswell Weir Wood SC (16.0 DNC) 13.0 16.0 DNC 45.0 29.0
15th 2063 Robin Courtenay Louise Courtenay Weir Wood SC 13.0 (16.0 DNC) 16.0 DNC 45.0 29.0


Race Report supplied by the race officer Bill Grose.