Prizegiving for Storm Hit Snowflake

The CYC Snowflake was badly impacted by the series of storms passing over the country. Two of the four events were cancelled due to winds exceeding the clubs 25 knot upper limit.

The Race Committee tried to catch up on the last day, with a change to the sailing instructions to introduce a third race and a shorter gap between races. The Forecast had strong winds overnight, but a fall through the day to more reasonable wind strengths. If the reduction in wind strength came a few hours early then racing might be possible. The Race officers conferred at 0800 and concluded that the wind was not going to cooperate, so unfortunately had to cancel the event.

With many competitors deciding to take an extra Duvet Day, the prizegiving saw a reduced number of attendees.

The Overall Snowflake winners were Iain and Sarah Yardley of Silver Wing SC sailing their 2000.

The prize for first CYC boat went to Mike and Paula Olliff also sailing a 2000.

The Series results were as follows.

Full details and lots of photos from the earlier dates are available here.

Fast Fleet


Rank Sail No Class Helm Crew Club
1st 3739 MERLIN-ROCKET Ben McGrane Roz McGrane Netley SC
2nd 1489 RS 400 Stephen Cockerill Sarah Cockerill Stokes Bay SC
3rd 1503 RS 400 Peter Snowdon Louise Carr Shoreham SC
4th 1260 RS 200 Ben Townsend Harry Dinnage Emsworth SC
5th 1192 RS 400 Jack Munnelly Dominik Woodcock Arun YC
6th 584 MUSTO SKIFF Andrew Gould Emsworth Slipper SC


Medium Fleet

Rank Sail No Class Helm Crew Club
1st 2204 2000 Iain Yardley Sarah Yardley Silver Wing SC
2nd 2553 RS AERO 7 Mark Riddington Emsworth Slipper SC
3rd 5781 SOLO Alex Butler HISC
4th 21731 2000 Micheal Olliff Paula Olliff Chichester YC
5th 355 EUROPE Lucy Boreham CYC
6th 166550 LASER Ian Payne CYC

Slow Fleet

Rank Sail No Class Helm Crew Club
1st 168875 LASER 4.7 Zak Smith Pagham Lagoon
2nd 47209 TOPPER 4.2 Chester Banton CYC
3rd 46974 TOPPER Thomas Machell CYC
4th 46076 TOPPER Sebastian Wattam Felpham SC
5th 70543 MIRROR (D/H) Bas Bush Oliver Tait CYC